Tuesday, August 23, 2016

Arjuna Award for Indian goalkeeper Subrata Paul

Arjuna Award for Subrata Paul
Subrata Paul was named winner of the Arjuna Award

Indian International goalkeeper Subrata Paul was named the winner of the prestigious Arjuna Award on Monday, 22nd August 2016. Subrata Paul has been a key member for the Indian side for several years and was one of the few bright spots in India's AFC Asia Cup 2011 campaign where he earned the nickname "Spiderman" for his fantastic performances under the bar for the Blue Tigers.

On his new feat, the goalkeeper said, "The Arjuna Award is one of the highest Awards for sportspersons in our Country. Over the years the best in their respective fields have been conferred with the Award. A sportsperson never plays to get any Award. But when your achievements get recognized, it is an added motivation to do better. I need to thank all my Coaches, my Teammates, AIFF, the Football fraternity and my family who stood by me and supported me over all these years."

AIFF President Mr. Praful Patel and General Secretary Mr. Kushal Das also congratulated Subrata Paul. Indian Senior National Team Head Coach Stephen Constantine also passed on his best wishes to the current DSK Shivajians shot stopper saying,"No one deserves the Arjuna Award more than Subrata. He has done so much for Indian Football both on and off the field. I am very happy for him. Congratulations."

Monday, August 22, 2016

Defender's Injury mars India U16's dominant win

India U17 World Cup Squad Tour
India U17 World Cup squad registered 3-0 victory
over MSV Duisburg
India U-17 World Cup squad continued their winning streak with a 3-0 victory over MSV Duisburg in Duisburg, Germany in a friendly game played on 21st August 2016.

In the 1st minute of the game Nicolai Adam's well drilled Indian side took the lead through Komal Thatal tap in from an inch perfect Boris cross. Amarjit's through ball was finished nicely by Aniket in the 35th minute while four minute later Aman tripled India's lead.

The game was stopped in the 60th minute as an unfortunate was witnessed as defender Reamsochung Aimol suffered a shin injury while mistiming his slide tackle and he was rushed to the hospital with reports confirming fractured bone.

Thursday, August 18, 2016

India to play friendly against Puerto Rico in Mumbai

India to play friendly against Puerto Rico
India to face Puerto Rico in an official friendly
fixture in Mumbai
India to play Puerto Rico in an official International Friendly match on 3rd September 2016 at the Andheri Sports Complex, Mumbai. The match is expected to serve as a good preparation for the AFC Asian Cup UAE 2019 Qualifiers. Puerto Rico are currently ranked 114th in the FIFA World ranking ladder and will prove to be a stern test for Stephen Constantine's boys. India featured in an unofficial friendly against Bhutan on 13th August 2016 where they won 3-0.

Wednesday, August 17, 2016

Mohun Bagan signs Haroon Amiri

Haroon Amiri joins Mohun Bagan
Mohun Bagan sign Haroon Amiri
Mohun Bagan have signed Afghan defender Haroon Amiri. Amiri joined Mohun Bagan practice session on Tuesday, 16th August 2016 before the Mariners signed him up. The former Afghan International is expected to feature heavily for the Green and Maroons in the Calcutta Football League(CFL).

Amiri, 26 is a well known name in Indian football having played for Mumbai FC for few seasons before plying his trade for Dempo SC and DSK Shivajians in the last two seasons of the I-League. Haroon Amiri also played for FC Goa in the first edition of Hero Indian Super League(ISL).

Monday, August 15, 2016

India U-17 World Cup squad win 4-1 against Rot Weiss Oberhausen

India U16 exposure tour, Germany
India U16 won 4-1 against Rot Weiss Oberhausen U17
India U-17 World Cup side defeated Rot Weiss Oberhausen U17 4-1 in Duisburg, Germany on Sunday, 14th August 2016., a German Bundesliga Youth League's second division side. Abijit Sarkar(4'), Aniket(37'), Sanjeev(73') and Jitendra(85') were the scorers for the young Indian side in their exposure tour.

Saturday, August 13, 2016

India ease past Bhutan in an unofficial friendly

India beat Bhutan in friendly
India beat Bhutan 3-0 in an unofficial friendly,
Picture Courtesy: AIFF Media
Unofficial Friendly, Thimphu, Bhutan
Bhutan 0-3 India
India: Sumeet Passi(3rd), Jeje Lalpekhlua(18th), Halicharan Narzary(21st)

INDIA: Subrata Paul; Aiborlang Khongjee (Germanpreet Singh – 46th), Dhanpal Ganesh (Chinglesana Singh – 46th), Sandesh Jhingan (Kaushik Sarkar -- 79th), Fluganco Cardozo; Jackichand Singh (Lallianzuala Changte – 70th), Rowlin Borges (Vinit Rai – 67th), Pronoy Halder, Halicharan Narzary (Issac Vanmalsawma – 46th), Sumeet Passi, Jeje Lalpekhlua.

Three quick fire goals in the first half from Team India were enough to down Bhutan away from home in the unofficial friendly match played in Thimphu on 13th August 2016. Sumeet Passi, Jeje Lalpekhlua and Halicharan Narzary were all on target as the Blue Tigers dominated the match and walked out as deserved winners.

Coach Stephen Constantine pointed out the altitude as being one of the major challenges which they were able to overcome due to the 12 days of training the coach had to work with his players in Delhi. Four new players donned the Indian jersey, though the match being non-official - Germanpreet Singh, Vinit Rai, Issac Vanmalsawma and Chinglesana Singh.

Friday, August 12, 2016

Delhi Dynamos FC to face West Brom Albion in a friendly

Delhi Dynamos pre-season
Delhi Dynamos FC to face EPL side West Brom Albion
in pre-season friendly
Hero Indian Super League(ISL) side Delhi Dynamos will fly to England to play English Premier League(EPL) side West Bromwich Albion in a friendly match. This will be a part of the Delhi based side's pre-season campaign for the upcoming third edition of Hero Indian Super League. The match is scheduled to take place on 3rd September 2016 and will be the first of its kind where a team from Indian Super League will face a English Premier League side.
Design by Free WordPress Themes | Bloggerized by Lasantha - Premium Blogger Themes | JCpenney Printable Coupons | Search Engine Submission - AddMe