India gears up for Federation Cup 2011

Federation Cup 2011
Its the first competitive tournament for the big names of Indian football, its time for the Federation Cup 2011. With a increased prize money of Rs. 25 Lakhs, all the teams will be looking for a rock solid performance in the opening tournament of the Season 2011-12. Almost each and every team have done severe pre-season training and it is the time to show the results.

16 teams has been grouped in four groups with two teams coming through the qualifying stages which were just concluded in Kolkata, with Mohammedan SC and Royal Wahingdoh being the teams who made it to the main phase.

Here is how the groups are divided:

Group A: Mc Dowell Mohun Bagan, Churchill Brothers, Shillong Lajong FC, Royal Wahingdoh.
Group B: Pailan Arrows, Salgaocar Sports Club, Mumbai FC, HAL.
Group C: Kingfisher East Bengal, Dempo SC, Pune FC, Mohammedan Sporting.
Group D: Prayag United SC, Sporting Clube de Goa, Air India, Chirag United, Kerala.

With many new faces which includes new coaches and new foreign recruits, the stakes could not have been higher. The matches will be played at Kolkata and Pune simultaneously and the kick off times are decided at 2:30 PM and 7:30 PM.

The first day will see eight teams to start their journey in the Federation Cup 2011

Group A(In Pune): 

McDowell Mohun Bagan vs Royal Wahingdoh
Churchill Brothers vs Shillong Lajong FC

Group C (In Kolkata ):

Kingfisher East Bengal vs Mohammedan Sporting
Dempo SC vs Pune FC

Share on Google Plus

About Unknown

    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment