Sunil Chhetri declared AIFF Player of the Year

Sunil Chhetri
Sunil Chhetri, AIFF Player of the Year 2011

Indian ace forward Sunil Chhetri has been declared the AIFF player of the year for the year 2011. Sunil has been very impressive in his for the country. In the recently concluded SAFF Championship, he was the Most Valuable Player of the tournament and grabbed the top goal scorers award. He has scored 13 goals in the 17 appearances made in the National Team jersey while for his performances in the domestic circuit includes 11 goals in 20 appearances.

The voting was done by the i-league coaches who chose him among the 5 nominated players for the award.

AIFF General secretary Kushal Das congratulated saying,"“I congratulate Sunil for being the AIFF Player-of-the-Year. He has had an outstanding year winning many accolades and I’m sure he will continue his good form in the New Year both for the country and his club.”

Sunil Chhetri will receive a sum of Rs.2 lakh along with a silver plaque.



January 14, 2011: One goal vs Bahrain (Asian Cup, Doha).
January 18, 2011: One goal vs South Korea (Asian Cup, Doha).
March 21, 2011: One goal vs Chinese Taipeh (AFC Challenge Cup – Qualifiers, Kuala Lumpur).
July 10, 2011: One goal vs Maldives (International Friendly, Male).
November 16, 2011: Two goals vs Malaysia (International Friendly, Kolkata).
December 3, 2011: One goal vs Afghanistan (SAFF Championship, New Delhi).
December 5, 2011: Two goals vs Bhutan (SAFF Championship, New Delhi).
December 7, 2011: One goal vs Sri Lanka (SAFF Championship, New Delhi).
December 9, 2011: Two goals vs Maldives (SAFF Championship, New Delhi).
December 11, 2011: One goal vs Afghanistan (SAFF Championship, New Delhi).

INTERNATIONAL: 13 goals in 17 matches


7 goals in 10 matches for Chirag United/Now called Prayag United  (I-league 2010-11)

For Mohun Bagan:

April 3, 2011: One goal vs Dempo (Kolkata).
April 10, 2011: One goal vs Churchill Brothers (Margao).
April 16, 2011: One goal vs Mohun Bagan (Kolkata).
April 29, 2011: Two goals vs ONGC (Kohlapur).
May 29, 2011: One goal vs Viva Kerala (Kolkata).
June 1, 2011: One goal vs East Bengal (Kolkata).

4 goals in 10 matches for McDowell Mohun Bagan (2011-12)

September 21, 2011: One goal vs Churchill Brothers (Pune – Federation Cup)
November 6, 2011: Two goals vs Mumbai FC (Pune – I-League)
November 10, 2011: One goal vs Churchill Brothers (Kolkata – I-League).


Previous Recipients of AIFF-Player of the Year

1992: I.M.Vijayan
1993: V.P.Sathyan
1994: Jo Paul Ancheri
1995: Bhaichung Bhutia
1996: Bruno Coutinho
1997: I.M.Vijayan
2000: I.M.Vijayan
2001: Jo Paul Ancheri 
2002: Deepak Mondal 
2003: Tomba Singh 
2004: S.Venkatesh 
2005: Climax Lawrence 
2006: Surkumar Singh 
2007: Sunil Chhetri 
2008: Bhaichung Bhutia 
2009: Subrata Pal
2010: Gouramangi Singh
Share on Google Plus

About Unknown

    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment


Spandan Sarkar said...

One of my favourite players..........