Indian team departs for AFC Challenge Cup

The 23 member India National Football Team left for Kathmandu to participate in the AFC Challenge Cup which kicks-off on March 8.

India have been clubbed with DPR Korea, Philippines and Tajikistan in Group B, while Group A consists of hosts Nepal, Maldives, Palestine and Turkmenistan. The winner of the tournament will earn a ticket to the AFC Asian Cup.

India play their first match against Tajikistan on March 9.

Despite being drawn in the Group of Death, National Coach Savio Medeira sounded optimistic. “We are in a tough group for sure but are confident of defending the title. The team is the right blend of youth and experienced players.”

AIFF Player-of-the-Year, Sunil Chhetri who had scored a hat-trick against Tajikistan to guide India to the 2011 Asian Cup added: “We are a capable side with a lot of potential. We will go all out to attain our goal for our fans.”

The list stays as follows:

Goalkeepers: Karanjit Singh, Subhasish Roychowdhury, Arindam Bhattacharya.
Defenders: Nirmal Chhetri, Raju Gaikwad, Sameer Naik, Gourmangi Singh, Anwar Ali, Kinsukh Debnath, Syed Rahim Nabi, Gurjinder 
Midfielders: Adil Khan, Anthony Pereira, Reisangmi Vashum, Rocus Lamare, Francis Fernandes, Jewel Raja, Lenny Rodrigues, Lalrindika Ralte.
Forwards: Sunil Chhetri, Sushil Singh, CS Sabeeth, Joaquim Abranches.

Share on Google Plus

About Unknown

    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment