Federation Cup 2012: East Bengal win Federation Cup 2012

East Bengal 3-2 Dempo SC
East Bengal: Arnab Mondal(60'), Manandeep Singh(99'), Chidi Edeh(109')
Dempo SC: Climax Lawrence(50'), Mahesh Gawli(111')

East Bengal managed to edge past Dempo SC after a thrilling encounter witnessed by the full house spectators at the Kanchanjungha Stadium, Siliguri. Climax Lawrence(50') was the first to get break the deadlock while new recruit Arnab Mondal restored the parity 10 minutes later. After the game went to the extra time, both teams added more fuel to their attack by bringing on fresh legs. East Bengal went ahead through Manandeep Singh when impact-sub Lalrindika Ralte's sweet shot was saved by Dempo's custodian Subhashish Roy Choudhry but only came to the path of Manandeep Singh, who slotted it calmly towards the net. The crowd went crazy when the Red and Golds doubled their lead on 109th minute when Chidi Edeh went past the entire defence to slot it past helpless Subhashish Roy Choudhry. As the game was reaching its end, Dempo fan's were given some hope by veteran defender Mahesh Gawli when he headed past Abhijit from a Godwin Franco free-kick. The scoreline however remained the same, as Trevor James Morgan was given the best possible birthday present of the Federation Cup 2012 title by his players. 
Share on Google Plus

About Unknown

    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment