International Friendly: India blown away by Palestine despite good start

India shown reality by impressive Palestine
India 2-4 Palestine
India: Clifford Miranda(17th), Syed Rahim Nabi(39th)
Palestine: Ashraf Alfawaghra(30th,P 48th,65th), Husam Abusalah(46th)

The much awaited FIFA International friendly between India and Palestine ended in a sorrow note for the hosts thanks to a superb hat-trick by Ashraf Alfawaghra for the visitors. Despite leading in the first half and looking really good, the Blue Tigers surrendered the lead and went on to concede two more as the visiting team went past the finishing line with a 4-2 win over the so called "favorites".
India's starting XI against Palestine
Team India were the better team in the first half playing some of the best football with the likes of young sensation Alwyn George and Sunil Chhetri combined nicely to haunt the Palestine defense line. India were the one to open the account as Clifford Miranda blasted the ball past Palestine custodian after some fine solo work by Alwyn George. The crowd at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium went bizarre after watching their Blue Tigers taking the lead. But soon, the visiting Palestine team equalized thanks to Ashraf Alfawaghra's volley beating Sandip Nandy all ends up. The crowd were back to their full voice when Syed Rahim Nabi headed home a Mehtab Hussian corner in the 39th minute. Sadly for India and the full voice crowd that cheered every move of the Blue Tigers, the second half came as a shocker with the defense being unlocked every now and then as feared before the match by the fans. Wim Koeverman't made a flurry of changes but Palestine simply proved to be unstoppable as Ashraf Alfawaghra went on to score a memorable hat-trick and a goal by Hussam Abusalah in the early moments of second half which opened the flood gates.

There were few question marks over the selection with the likes of Subrata Paul, Lalkamal Bhowmik and Izumi Arata all sitting on bench. Moreover, as when the squad was announced, many raised concerns over the defensive selection by the Dutch coach with the likes of Arnab Mondal, Anas Edathodika and many other more consistent defenders not making it to the 23 man squad.

Sandip Nandy, Denzil Franco, Gouramangi Singh, Raju Gaikwad, Syed Rahim Nabi; Francis Fernandes (Joaquim Abranches – 74th), Mehtab Hossain, Lenny Rodrigues (Arata Izumi 67th), Clifford Miranda (CK Vineet – 84th); Alwyn George (Jewel Raja – 68th); Sunil Chhetri (Manandeep Singh – 74th)
Share on Google Plus

About Debraj Banerjee

Hi, I am Debraj Banerjee from Adra, West Bengal. A keen follower of Indian football and always an optimist that the game will get the recognition it truely deserves. What we ask from you is your support and one day the dream might turn true. Fingers crossed for Indian football. Cheers!

Follow Me on Twitter Debraj Banerjee
    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment