DSK Shivajians win DSK Cup – Invitational Football Tournament

DSK Cup Invitational Football Tournament, Final
DSK Dream City, Pune
DSK Shivajians FC 2-0 Ashwamedh Nagpur FC
DSK: Ivor Fernandes(54th), Irshad Mohammed(57th)

DSK Shivajians FC lifted the winner’s trophy of the ‘DSK Cup – Invitational Football Tournament – All India 2014’ held on Sunday by defeating Ashwamedh Nagpur FC2-0 in a nail biting match. The finale took place at DSK Dream City in Pune.

DSK Shivajians win DSK Cup
Invitational Football Tournament
The arena exuded a carnival like atmosphere with supporters cheering and hooting for their favorite teams. The match was electrifying from the start with both teams going at it with their best moves, blocking every attempt to score till half time. However, during the second half, DSK Shivajians FC sent the packed stands into raptures as they sprinted ahead 2-0, with the goals scored by midfielder Ivor Fernandes at 54 minutes and striker Irshad Mohammed at 57 minutes, respectively.

“I congratulate DSK Shivajians FC for winning the DSK Cup by beating the boys from Ashwamedh Nagpur FC who put up a great fight and proved to be worthy opponents. These ten days of the tournament reflected true sportsmanship spirit and a brilliant game of football coupled with unbridled passion and pure talent displayed by the boys. I am very happy with our team’s performance and thank each and every player representing rest of the teams for giving us such an exciting tournament.” said an ecstatic Shirish Kulkarni –Director, DSK Shivajians FC.

The winners of the tournament and players who secured pole positions for other categories were felicitated by Shri Paresh Shivalkar, former I-League player with Air India and Mahindra.
The players felicitated for other categories were:

Striker of the Tournament – Emmannuel Okoye (Ashwamedh Nagpur FC)
Player of the Tournament – Ivor Fernandes (DSK Shivajians FC)
Goalkeeper of the Tournament – Abhishek Das (DSK Shivajians FC)
Most Disciplined Team – State Bank of Travancore, Kerala

Eight teams battled it out in the quarter finals with DSK Shivajians FC and Ashwamedh Nagpur FC beating Air India and SBT Kerala in the semis to reach the finale. This is the first time that DSK Shivajians have hosted the DSK Cup at the national level.

Share on Google Plus

About Debraj Banerjee

Hi, I am Debraj Banerjee from Adra, West Bengal. A keen follower of Indian football and always an optimist that the game will get the recognition it truely deserves. What we ask from you is your support and one day the dream might turn true. Fingers crossed for Indian football. Cheers!

Follow Me on Twitter Debraj Banerjee
    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment