DSK Shivajians Academy to debut in U-19 i-League

LFC DSK Academy U-19 i-League debut
Liverpool FC International Football Academy- DSK Shivajians to make their U-19 i-League debut

The U 19 I-League 2014-15 starting from 13th December, 2014 will be a landmark event for DSK Shivajians, who are making their debut this season. The team will be formed by the players from Liverpool FC International Football Academy- DSK Shivajians, who will be playing in the Maharashtra Zone.
This season, the teams will be grouped in four zones – Maharashtra Zone, Goa Zone, Kolkata Zone, and the Rest of India Zone, respectively. The Maharashtra Zone will conclude by 28th January, 2014. All home matches played by DSK Shivajians in the Maharashtra zone will be held at DSK Dream City Football Field, Pune.

The tournament will start off with the league matches played by the teams in each zone as home and away fixtures. Teams participating from Rest of India Zone will be further divided into two groups who will play a single leg league. Top two teams from each zone will then go on compete in the qualifiers and eventually the two best teams emerging from the knock out will go on to play for the title clincher.

Commenting on this event Mr. Shirish Kulkarni, President, Liverpool FC International Football Academy – DSK Shivajians said, “It is an extremely proud moment for us to see our boys from Liverpool FC International Football Academy –DSK Shivajians make a debut at the U 19 I-League 2014-15. It is definitely going to be a great opportunity for the boys to showcase their talent which will also help increase their confidence in the game. This tournament will act as a stepping stone for the players in their careers. The fact that it is a national tournament, with renowned teams participating from all across the country, makes it all the more better.”

Dave Rogers, Head Coach, Liverpool FC International Football Academy - DSK Shivajians said, “Seeing the kind of passion and enthusiasm people have for football in India, opportunities like the I-League help take the talent to the next level. This is a great opportunity for the players to test their skills. I am confident that they will showcase their best talent and put the training to good use. We will certainly aim for the best possible results throughout the tournament to qualify for the next leg.”

The teams from the four zones are as follows.

Maharashtra Zone – Mumbai FC, Pune FC, Kenkre FC, PIFA Sports, DSK Shivajians
Goa Zone – Dempo SC, Salgaocar FC, Sesa Academy, AIFF Elite Academy, Sporting Clube de Goa
Kolkata Zone – MohunBagan, East Bengal, United SC, Mohammedan Sporting
Rest of India Zone – Bengaluru FC, Aizawl FC, Chanmari FC, Hindustan FC, Shillong Lajong FC, Royal Wahingdoh FC, Kalyani Bharat FC, Lonestar Kashmir FC, Tata Football Academy

Michael Rice, Academy coach, Liverpool FC International Football Academy - DSK Shivajians ecstatic about the event said, “The boys at the Academy are extremely talented and it has been a pleasure to be a part of this training program. It will be a delight to see them play in the I-League since they have a real passion for the game and a willingness to continuously learn and develop. We are looking forward to see the boys sweat it out on the field showcasing their potential with their eyes firmly set on the coveted trophy.”
The first day of the tournament will see teams participating from all the three zones, except the Rest of India Zone, who will be starting their campaign in 2015.
Share on Google Plus

About Debraj Banerjee

Hi, I am Debraj Banerjee from Adra, West Bengal. A keen follower of Indian football and always an optimist that the game will get the recognition it truely deserves. What we ask from you is your support and one day the dream might turn true. Fingers crossed for Indian football. Cheers!

Follow Me on Twitter Debraj Banerjee
    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment