Bengaluru FC are the Federation Cup 2014-15 Champions

Bengaluru FC beat Dempo SC to win Federation Cup 2014-15
Bengaluru FC beat Dempo SC in the finals of Federation Cup 2014-15, Picture Courtesy:

Federation Cup 2014-15 Results
Bengaluru FC 2-1 Dempo SC
BFC: Sunil Chhetri(Sunil Chhetri(Penalty 10th), Robin Singh(65th)
DSC: Tolgay Ozbey(Penalty 45+3rd)

Bengaluru FC were crowned the champions after the full time whistle of Federation Cup 2014-15 finals played at the Nehru Stadium, Fatorda on Sunday, 11th January 2015. Sunil Chhetri converted from the spot when Haroon Amiri brought down Eugeneson Lyngdoh inside the box in the 10th minute. Dempo SC stored parity through in-form Aussie forward Tolgay Ozbey right at the end of first half when John Johnson brought down Amiri and Tolgay converting from the spot. Robin Singh latched onto a Beikhokhei Beingaichho cross to score the winner in the 65th minute. Three minutes later, Dempo SC already trailing by a goal went down to 10 men as Rowilson Rodrigues made a rash challenge against Thoi Singh. Dempo SC players went all-out in an attempt to get the equalizer but Bengaluru FC stood firm to add one more silverware to their trophy-cabinet.

"We are delighted at this win, and this shows what good team work can do. This sets us up perfectly for the Hero I-League and I am really happy with the way the boys responded to the challenge. Having said that I maintain that we cannot stretch our legs thinking we are the best in India. We have a lot of areas to work on and the I-League will be competitive to say the least" said, Ashley Westwood, Bengaluru FC coach.

Ashley Westwood's counterpart, Arthur Papas congratulated Bengaluru FC for winning the Federation Cup 2015 title, while also praising his players' team spirit,"I am proud of the way my boys played till the end with one man down. They have been excellent throughout the competition and this is the first time we have been down."
Share on Google Plus

About Unknown

    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment