Hero Motocorp sign 3 year contract as title sponsor of i-League

Sunil Chhetri(Bengaluru FC) and Clifford Miranda(Dempo SC) posing with the Hero i-League trophy,
Picture Courtesy: The AIFF Media

Hero Motocorp Ltd, the world’s largest two-wheeler manufacturer, has signed a three-year contract to be the Title Sponsors for the I-League. Hero has always been in the forefront in support of promoting sports globally, and this sponsorship is in line with this endeavor.

The Hero I-League is scheduled to kick off on January 17, 2015. The first match will be played between Salgaocar FC and Pune FC at 4.30 pm at the Fatorda Stadium, Goa; and between the defending champions Bengaluru FC and Dempo SC at 7 pm on the same day, at the Kanteerva Stadium, Bengaluru.

The Hero I-League trophy was unveiled here today in the presence of the captain of Bengaluru FC Sunil Chhetri, captain of Dempo SC Clifford Miranda, Mr. Kushal Das, General Secretary, Mr. AR Khaleel, Chairman Hero I-League and Mr. Sunando Dhar, CEO, Hero I-League.

The prize money for different awards are as follows:

Hero of the I-League -.Rs. 2,00,000
Hero Goalkeeper of the I-League and Hero Defender of the I-League - Rs. 25,000 
Hero of the Match - Rs. 10,000

The battle for the coveted ‘Hero I-League Trophy’ will be between Bengaluru FC, Bharat FC,  Dempo SC, East Bengal Club, Mohun Bagan, Mumbai FC, Pune FC, Royal Wahingdoh, Salgaocar FC, Shillong Lajong FC & Sporting Clube de Goa.

Mr. Pawan Munjal, Vice Chairman, Managing Director & Chief Executive Officer, Hero MotoCorp Ltd, said, “Football is not just the world’s most popular game, it has today become a phenomenon sweeping across continents. Like every other part of the world, India is also in the grip of this magic called football as millions of youngsters across the country are taking to the game with enthusiasm. Having been the Title Sponsor of the Hero Indian Super League and the Federation Cup, we are now taking the next logical step of becoming the Title Sponsor of the much-followed I-League. With this, Hero MotoCorp has now become the pioneer catalysts in popularising the game of football in the country. I am sure this will also bring in much-needed professionalism into the game and promote it at the grass roots level to help identify and nurture local talent.”

Mr. Kushal Das, General Secretary, AIFF, commented “We are extremely happy to have Hero Motocorp Ltd as the Title Sponsor of the I-League. I believe this will go a long way in creating the necessary marketing buzz for the I-League which is a very important tournament for identifying national team players as well as participation in AFC Club competitions.”

“I am grateful to our commercial partners, Football Sports Development Limited (FSDL), for roping in a sponsor of the stature of Hero Motocorp Ltd, who are known for their ability to take sporting properties to new levels by their innovations and marketing acumen.”

From 2007, The National Football League has been named as the I-League and since then they have had seven editions. The current one will be the eighth edition of the I-League, with 11 teams on Board. Goan heavyweights Dempo SC have won the title five times. The defending champions Bengaluru FC have created history by laying their nascent hands on the trophy in their very first year and season.
Share on Google Plus

About Unknown

    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment