GFA Girls U18 Tournament: Carmel's HSS are the Champions

Carmel HSS win the GFA U18 Girls Tournament
Carmel High Secondary School win the GFA U18 Girls Tournament defeating St. Xavier’s HSS in the finals

Carmel Higher Secondary School, Nuvem emerged champions of the Under 18 Girls Tournament organised by the Goa Football Association after getting the better of St. Xavier’s Higher Secondary School, Mapusa.

In the finals played at Poriat Ground, Calangute, on Saturday, 29th August 2015, both teams matched each other in a hotly contested final. The all important goal was scored by striker Helicia D’Souza in the 47th minute of the match.

The first half saw action in both goalmouths, with both teams trying their best to gain the upper hand. After an eventful first half that saw neither team score, the deadlock was eventually broken by a resurgent Carmel’s Convent attack in which attacking midfielder Helicia D’Souza latched on to a through ball, got the better of the advancing defenders and deftly placed the ball past goalkeeper Rhea Noronha from the top of the box.

This set the St. Xavier’s girls scampering for an equaliser. International forward Scindia Saundatikar backed by Espy Fernandes and Kaisiya Fernandes, who came in for Glenda Monteiro and Abygale Almeida, launched a focussed effort to peg back the difference. In the end, the girls from Nuvem managed to ward off a spirited fightback from their opponents, with their skipper India U19 player Velanie Fernandes leading from the front, backed by defenders Avrel Fernandes, Karen Costa, and Daphina Costa.

The winners were awarded a cash prize of Rs 15000 and a trophy, while the runners up had to be satisfied with Rs 10000 and a trophy. GFA Vice President Lavinio Rebello, Head of Women’s Football, Ms. Juliana Gurjao e Colaco, GFA Life Member Mr. Filipe Dias, GFA Executive Members Mr. Patrick D’Souza, Mr. Gajanan Kerkar and Mr. Raju Banaulikar were present and handed over the prizes. The game was witnessed by India U19 women’s coach Maymol Rocky and former India captain and Arjuna Awardee Mr. Bruno Coutinho.

The Lineups
Carmel’s Nuvem – Janesia D’Silva, Velanie Fernandes, Vailanka D’Souza, Genevie Fernandes, Avia Vas, Jolita Braganza (Stiffa Pereira), Agiema Borges, Avrel Fernandes, Helicia D’Souza, Karen Costa, Daphina Costa

St. Xavier’s Mapusa – Rhea Noronha, Rebecca Mascarenhas, Melissa Pacheco, Cynthia Lobo, Adria Fernandes, Divya Naik (Sneha Kerkar), Cianna Lobo, Abigail D’Cunha, Abygale Almeida (Kaisiya Fernandes), Scindia Saundatikar, Glenda Monteiro (Espy Fernandes).

The following players were awarded cash prizes:
Velanie Fernandes (Carmel’s Nuvem) – Best Player of the Tournament
Cynthia Lobo (St Xavier’s, Mapusa) – Best Defender
Cianna Lobo (St Xavier’s, Mapusa) – Best Midfielder
Sushmita Jadhav (St. Xavier’s HS, Moira) – Best Striker
Rhea Noronha (St Xavier’s Mapusa) – Best Goalkeeper
Karishma Shirvoikar (Rosary HS, Dona Paula) – Most Promising Player  
Share on Google Plus

About Unknown

    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment