Ruthless Manipur beat Odisha to win 2015 Girls U-18 National Football Championship

Manipur beat Odisha in the finals of 2015 U-18 Girls National Football Championship to win the title

Manipur beat Odisha in the finals of U18 Girls National Championship
Manipur win the U18 Girls National Football Championship 2015 beating Odisha in the finals
2015 U-18 Girls National Football Championship, 2015 Finals
Final Score: Manipur 5-0 Odisha
Goal Scorers for Manipur:
Premi Chiru (6 Min, 34 Min)
N. Ratanbala Devi (12 Min)
S. Ranjana Chanu (21 Min)
Kashmina (47 Min)

Manipur thump Odisha 5-0 in the Finals to win the Junior National Football Championship for Girls U-18, 2015. Manipur showed their class throughout the tournament and came out deservingly victorious. Manipur controlled the entire match right from the starting whistle and continued pounding the opposition’s goal and putting great pressure on the Odisha defense right till the end of regulation time. Manipur opened the scoring in the very 6th minute of play with a strong volley from the top of the D to put the ball at the back of the net. The early goal ignited the Manipur forwards and they put immense pressure on the Odisha midfield and defenders by pressing to get control of the ball. The pressure was too much for Odisha team to handle and a fumble in the goalmouth in the 12th minute, gave N. Ratanbala Devi an easy opportunity to score Manipur’s second goal. Manipur played a team game and moved the ball around really well in a show of class and finesse. S. Ranjana Chanu scored the 3rd goal for Manipur in the 21st minute with a fine header from a corner kick. Manipur team players moved the ball around on both sides of the pitch, there were lots of touches to the ball and every player was fully involved in the match. Premi Chiru took the game beyond Odisha’s reach in just the first half of play with a good strong header to score a goal and put Manipur ahead 4-0 going into the half-time break. After changing sides, Odisha team did make some good attempts at goal, but they did not get close to scoring a goal and Manipur with their superior finishing always looked threatening to score. Manipur held the ball possession for most of the match and displayed superior football skills with short passes, aggressive attacking play and deft finishing. Highest scorer of the Junior Nationals and Player of the Tournament, Kashmina, scored her 22nd goal and Manipur’s 5th goal in the 47th minute of play by sidestepping two defenders and then beating the goalkeeper on a one on one situation with a deft finish and got cheers from the spectators gathered at the Rosary Ground in Navelim. The match ended with the final score reading 5-0 in favour of Manipur.

Chief Guest of the Finals was Shri Avertano Furtado, Hon. Minister of Fisheries, Labour and RDA and gave away the Winner’s Trophy and Gold Medals to the Manipur Team.

Guest of Honour of the Finals was Shri Benjamin Silva, Hon. MLA, Velim Constituency, who gave away the Runner-Up trophy and Silver Medals to the Odisha Team.

Share on Google Plus

About Unknown

    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment