Chennaiyin FC beat FC Goa to win Hero Indian Super League 2015

Chennaiyin FC beat FC Goa to win Hero ISL 2015
Chennaiyin FC beat FC Goa in the finals to win the Hero ISL 2015 title,
Picture Courtesy: ISL
Hero Indian Super League(ISL) 2015 Final
FC Goa 2-3 Chennaiyin FC
FCG: T. Haokip(58th), Jofre(87th)
CFC: Bruno Pelissari(54th), Laxmikant Kattimani(Own Goal,90th),  Steven Mendoza(90th)

Chennayin FC won the Hero Indian Super League 2015 in the most dramatic fashion defeating FC Goa in the finals 3-2 played at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Fatorda on Sunday, 20th December 2015.

Both teams could not break the deadlock after the first half but the second half was anything but similar. Chennaiyin FC took the first stride towards the title when Bruno Pelissari gave them the lead in the 54th minute when he converted the rebound after watching his spot kick saved by Kattimani. FC Goa however neutralized the deficit just four minutes later, when Thongkhoisiem Haokip pounced on a dangerous low cross from Romeo Fernandes.

Joffre, who had won the Indian Super League(ISL) title in the first season with Atletico de Kolkata was next to trouble the scorers when his free-kick found the net with only 3 minutes of regulation time remaining. Just when FC Goa fans were celebrating a possible title triumph it went bad to worse in a matter of few minutes. First it was Laxmikant Kattimani who could not deal properly with an aerial ball into the box, deflected the ball to his own net after colliding with his own defender Pronoy Halder under pressure from Steven Mendoza. Then a minute later in injury time, Steven Mendoza took full advantage of a good through ball played by Jayesh Rane to outfox Gregory Arnolin and slotting the ball past Kattimani to shatter all Goan hopes and clinching the title for Chennaiyin FC.

Hero ISL 2015 - League Awards:

Muthoot Group Fair Play Award – Mumbai City FC
Amul Fittest Player of the League – Iain Hume - Atl├ętico de Kolkata
AltoK10 Golden Boot Award – Stiven Mendoza - Chennaiyin FC
Golden Glove Award – Edel Bete - Chennaiyin FC
ISL Emerging Player of the League – Jeje Lalpekhlua - Chennaiyin FC
Hero of the League – Stiven Mendoza - Chennaiyin FC
Share on Google Plus

About Debraj Banerjee

Hi, I am Debraj Banerjee from Adra, West Bengal. A keen follower of Indian football and always an optimist that the game will get the recognition it truely deserves. What we ask from you is your support and one day the dream might turn true. Fingers crossed for Indian football. Cheers!

Follow Me on Twitter Debraj Banerjee
    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment