Minerva Academy FC strengthen their squad for 2nd Division i-League Final Phase

Minerva Academy FC
Minerva Academy made some big signings for the final round of Second Division i-League 2015-16

The signing spree that other clubs went through in the transfer window was indeed encouraging. NEROCA roped in some I-League/ISL players and so did Mohammedan SC. Dempo meanwhile have many of their players returning from ISL. Gangtok and Kashmir FC have equally done well.

Considering this, Minerva didn’t want themselves to be left behind and the management took a strong decision to add few lethal chinks into their Arsenal.

“We have signed 13 new players to strengthen our squad for the final round. This was critical for us to challenge other club for the title as we are looking to be in the I-League next season,” said Ranjit Bajaj.

Some of MAFC’s pricey catch are the likes of Sukhwinder Singh, Munmun Timothy Lugun and Ramandeep Singh.

Sukhwinder Singh is an experience player, having plied his trade at  the highest level for JTC, Pune FC and East Bengal before coming into the ranks of Minerva Academy FC.

Munmun on the other hand is a young and dynamic Left Back/Winger, who rose to prominence when Rangdajied United took part in their maiden I-League venture in 2013-14. After the club’s ouster from the I-League, he joined Pune FC while turning out for Delhi Dynamos in the Indian Super League.

Ramandeep Singh featured for Kerala Blasters in the 2015 ISL. The centre back also has ample experience playing at the highest level with Air India. He is not new to the 2nd Division circuit also, having helped Eagles FC of Kerala in 2013 to challenge for the I-League berth.

Meanwhile two foreigners - Kareem Omoloja and Atsushi Yonezawa - have also been added to strengthen the squad. Kareem brings his vast experience to add more solidity at the back line while Yonezawa joins the team after turning out for Aizawl FC in the I-League.

Other prominent signing includes experience Timmy Ryngkhlem from Shillong Premier League side Langsning FC, Ronald Saikhom from TFA and Monu Chowdhury loaned from Hindustan FC. Monu has been an integral part of Hindustan FC in their 2nd division campaign last term.

The team has reached Imphal this morning to play their first match against NEROCA FC on the 29th of March at the Khumanlampak Stadium.


1. Harpreet Singh (GK), 2 . Harpreet Bedi, 3. Santosh Kumar, 4. Nitesh Chhikara, 5. Sukhwinder Singh, 7. Simranjit Singh, 8. Amandeep Singh, 10. Bala Al Hassan, 11. Sehijpal Singh, 12. Arshdeep Singh, 13. Akashdeep Singh, 14. Dilliram Sanyasi, 15. Manvir Singh, 16. Kareem Omolaja Nurain, 17. Arashpreet Singh, 18. Prabhjot Singh, 19. Amarwant Singh, 20. Krishna Pandit, 21. Akash Sangwan, 22. Kamalpreet Singh, 23. Waris Rashidm, 24. Taranjit Singh, 25. Shayan Roy (GK), 28. Monu Chowdhury, 29. Sajandeep Singh, 30. Arshdeep Singh (GK), 31. Ramandeep Singh, 32. Neeraj Anand, 33. Munmun Timothy Lugun, 34. Ronald Singh Saikhom, 35. Timmy Ryngkhlem, 48. Atsushi Yonezawa, 50. Pawandeep Singh
Share on Google Plus

About Debraj Banerjee

Hi, I am Debraj Banerjee from Adra, West Bengal. A keen follower of Indian football and always an optimist that the game will get the recognition it truely deserves. What we ask from you is your support and one day the dream might turn true. Fingers crossed for Indian football. Cheers!

Follow Me on Twitter Debraj Banerjee
    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment