Bengaluru FC are the Hero i-League 2015-16 Champions

Bengaluru FC win Hero i-League 2015-16 title
Bengaluru FC win the Hero i-League 2015-16 title after defeating Salgaocar FC,
Picture Courtesy: i-League Media
Hero i-League 2015-16 Results
Sree Kanteerava Stadium
Bengaluru FC 2-0 Salgaocar FC
BFC: Eugeneson Lyngdoh(8th - From Karanjit's clearance), Semilen Doungel(87th - Assist Sunil Chhetri)

Bengaluru FC emerged victorious against Salgaocar FC in the crucial Hero i-League 2015-16 clash, thus becoming the champions with a game left. Needing an outright victory to secure their title, Bengaluru FC came out on top with a 2-0 victory in the clash against a relegation threatened Salgaocar FC in the match played on Sunday, 17th April 2016 at the Sree Kanteerava Stadium, Bengaluru. Eugeneson Lyngdoh opened the scoring when he struck the ball from a Karajit Singh's attempted clearance and a deflection found the back of the net. Late into the second half Mohun Bagan's hope of retaining the title was put to bed by substitute Seminlen Doungel who calmly finished after some neat work from Sunil Chhetri down the left hand side. With the victory, Bengaluru FC secured their second title in three season in top-flight.

Bengaluru FC have now 32 points in their kitty from 15 matches followed by Mohun Bagan(with 27 points) and East Bengal(25 points). Ashley Westwood's side will now go into their final league match against Mohun Bagan on 27th April having already been assured the championship.
Share on Google Plus

About Debraj Banerjee

Hi, I am Debraj Banerjee from Adra, West Bengal. A keen follower of Indian football and always an optimist that the game will get the recognition it truely deserves. What we ask from you is your support and one day the dream might turn true. Fingers crossed for Indian football. Cheers!

Follow Me on Twitter Debraj Banerjee
    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment