Hero i-League: Bengaluru FC lead title race after victory against East Bengal

Hero i-League 2015-16 Results
Bengaluru FC lead title race, defeat East Bengal 3-1, Hero i-League, Picture Courtesy: i-League Media
Hero i-League 2015-16 Results
Fatorda Stadium, Goa
SC Goa 5-2 Shillong Lajong FC
SCG: Mehrajuddin Wadoo(2nd - Assist Rowlin Borges), Sumeet Passi(21st - Assist Pratesh Shirodkar, 31st - Assist Ganesh Thakur), Subashish Bose(65th - Assist Rowlin Borges), Mahmoud Al-Amna(88th - Penalty)
SLFC: Penn Orji(77th - Fabio Pena, 86th)

Sporting clubde de Goa put in a five-star performance against Shillong Lajong FC in the Hero i-League clash played at the Fatorda Stadium on Monday, 10th April 2016. Sporting came out with a thumping 5-2 victory over Shillong Lajong FC. Sporting drew the first blood through Mehrajuddin Wadoo whose header found the back of the net after being fed by Rowlin Borges in just the 2nd minute. Sumeet Passi scored a quick brace thereafter to triple Sporting's lead. Sandwiched between the two goals was a sending off for Shillong Lajong's star man upfront - Uilliams Souza, who committed his second cynical foul. Despite Penn Orji putting in a valiant shift by netting a brace, Sporting came out with a thumping 5-2 victory with the last two goals coming from Subashish Bose and Mahmoud Al-Amna. Shillong Lajong FC with the defeat are in a critical position in the relegation fight with 15 points from 14 games whereas Sporting Goa have 18 points from 14 matches.

Sree Kanteerava Stadium, Bengaluru
Bengaluru FC 3-1 East Bengal
BFC: Eugeneson Lyngdoh(29th - Assist Kim Song Yong), Kim Song Yong(64th - Assist Eugeneson Lyngdoh), Malswamzuala(70th - Scored from a rebound)
EB: Do Dong Hyun(28th - Won possession)

In a high-voltage clash in Bengaluru's Sree Kanteerava Stadium, Bengaluru FC triumphed over East Bengal with a 3-1 victory in the Hero i-League tie played on Sunday, 10th April 2016. Despite beginning strongly, East Bengal took a surprising lead in the 27th minute through Korean winger Do Dong Hyun, as he won possession from Malswamzuala and calmly finished off to give the Red and Golds the lead. The joy was shortlived for the East Bengal supporters, as the home side equalized within a minute through Eugeneson Lyngdoh. The 2015 AIFF player of the year headed home from close range off a delivery from Kim Seong Yong. The Blues took the lead in the 63rd minute as Kim turned from provider to scorer as he struck the ball past East Bengal custodian T.P.Rahenesh after some good work by Eugeneson Lyngdoh down the left hand side. The game was put to bed in the 70th minute by 18 year old Malsawmzuala whose shot found the net with Rahenesh unable to palm the ball away. With the victory Bengaluru FC lead the race in the three-way title race for the i-League and a victory against Salgaocar FC will crown them the champion. Any dropped points from them would however open the gates for both East Bengal and Mohun Bagan to make a title claim.
Share on Google Plus

About Debraj Banerjee

Hi, I am Debraj Banerjee from Adra, West Bengal. A keen follower of Indian football and always an optimist that the game will get the recognition it truely deserves. What we ask from you is your support and one day the dream might turn true. Fingers crossed for Indian football. Cheers!

Follow Me on Twitter Debraj Banerjee
    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment