i-League: Bengaluru FC edge three-way title race after Mohun Bagan lose derby

Hero i-League 2015-16 Results
Mohun Bagan lose derby, Bengaluru FC in pole position, Picture Courtesy: i-League Media

Hero i-League 2015-16 Results
Kanchenjunga Stadium, Siliguri
East Bengal 2-1 Mohun Bagan
EB: Do Dong Hyun(Penalty 40th, 73rd - Won possession of the ball)
MB: Yusa Katsumi (82nd - Assist Pritam Kotal)

Sree Kanteerava Stadium, Bengaluru
Bengaluru FC 1-0 Mumbai FC
BFC: Daniel Lalhlimpuia (82nd - Assist Vineeth CK)

East Bengal won the Kolkata Derby played in Siliguri with Do Dong Hyun scoring a brace. The first goal for the Red and Golds came from the spot after a controversial decision went in their favor. Ranti Martins went down in the box after a feeble contact with Luciano Sarbosa and that was before the ball rolled on the strikers arm. Mohun Bagan had a chance to grab a late equalizer after Do Dong scored his second in the 82nd minute. Mohun Bagan were awarded a late penalty in the injury time but could not capitalize as Jeje missed from the spot.

Bengaluru FC were finally able to beat Mumbai FC at the Sree Kanteerava Stadium on Saturday with a 1-0 victory.  Daniel Lalhlimpuia scored for the blues in a crucial fixture that saw Ashley Westwood's men surge ahead of Mohun Bagan in the title race. Though equal on points with Mohun Bagan, Bengaluru FC are in a better position for the title having played a game less(12) than Mohun Bagan(13). East Bengal also are now in a great position with 23 points from 12 games.
Share on Google Plus

About Debraj Banerjee

Hi, I am Debraj Banerjee from Adra, West Bengal. A keen follower of Indian football and always an optimist that the game will get the recognition it truely deserves. What we ask from you is your support and one day the dream might turn true. Fingers crossed for Indian football. Cheers!

Follow Me on Twitter Debraj Banerjee
    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment