Five star Mohun Bagan down Aizawl to win Hero Federation Cup 2016

Mohun Bagan beat Aizawl FC to win Hero Federation Cup 2016
Mohun Bagan won the Hero Federation Cup 2016 defeating Aizawl FC in the final, Picture Courtesy: AIFF Media

Hero Federation Cup 2016 Final
Indira Gandhi Athletic Stadium, Guwahati
Mohun Bagan 5-0 Aizawl FC
MB: Sony Norde(48th), Dhanachandra Singh(59th), Jeje Lalpekhlua(72nd, 89th), Bikramjit Singh(79th)

Mohun Bagan ripped apart Aizawl FC with a stellar 5-0 victory in the Hero Federation Cup 2016 final played at the Indira Gandhi Athletic Stadium, Guwahati on Saturday, 21st May 2016.

The scores were even at half time with both teams failing to get much success on the attacking front but the second half was an entirely different story. Sony Norde scored the opener in the 48th minute after some smart work by Jeje to chest it down for the Haitian International. Eleven minutes later Dhanachandra doubled the lead with a thumping header from Katsumi corner kick. Jeje Lalpekhlua's goal in the 72nd minute sealed the victory but the Mariners were not done yet. Bikramjit Singh made it a resounding 4-0 with Sony Norde doing all the good work down the left hand side. The demolition was complete in the 89th minute with Mohun Bagan's ace forward Jeje Lalpekhlua completing his brace. Mohun Bagan thus winning their record 14th Federation Cup title.
Share on Google Plus

About Debraj Banerjee

Hi, I am Debraj Banerjee from Adra, West Bengal. A keen follower of Indian football and always an optimist that the game will get the recognition it truely deserves. What we ask from you is your support and one day the dream might turn true. Fingers crossed for Indian football. Cheers!

Follow Me on Twitter Debraj Banerjee
    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment