Atletico de Kolkata are the Hero ISL 2016 Champions

ATK win Hero ISL 2016
Atletico de Kolkata are beat Kerala Blasters FC to the Hero ISL 2016 title,
Picture Courtesy: Indian Super League
Indian Super League(ISL) 2016 Final
Kerala Blasters 1-1(3-4 Pen.) Atletico de Kolkata

KBFC: Md. Rafi(37th)
ATK: Henrique Sereno(44th)

History repeated itself as Atletico de Kolkata came out on top in the grand finale of the Hero Indian Super League(ISL) 2016 against Kerala Blasters FC to be crowned the champions of the 2016 edition of the tournament.

Much to the delight of the home fans Kerala Blasters took the lead with local lad Mohammed Rafi finding the back of the net from a glancing header after a corner in the 37th minute. Kolkata replied back after seven minutes and the goal also came through a corner. Henrique Fonseca Sereno headed home the equalizer for the champions of 2014 edition of Hero ISL, beating his marker Sandesh Jhingan in the process.

The game did not saw any goal even after extra time as penalty shootout was deemed necessary to find out the winner. Atletico de Kolkata edged it on penalties with only Ian Hume missing his effort from the spot while for the Blasters Lhadji Endoye and Cedric Hengbart missed their chances. Jewel Raja's penalty sent the ATK fan's and team in ruptures as they were crowned the Hero ISL champions for the second time in three years.
Share on Google Plus

About Debraj Banerjee

Hi, I am Debraj Banerjee from Adra, West Bengal. A keen follower of Indian football and always an optimist that the game will get the recognition it truely deserves. What we ask from you is your support and one day the dream might turn true. Fingers crossed for Indian football. Cheers!

Follow Me on Twitter Debraj Banerjee
    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment