West Bengal beat Goa to win the 71st Santosh Trophy

West Bengal win 71st edition of Santosh Trophy
West Bengal defeated Goa to win their 32nd Santosh Trophy, Picture Courtesy: AIFF Media
Santosh Trophy 2017 Final (71st Edition)
GMC Bambolim Stadium, Goa
Goa 0-1 West Bengal
West Bengal: Manvir Singh(119th)

West Bengal triumphed over Goa to win the 71st Santosh Trophy in a match which had a fascinating finish with Bengal scoring in virtually the last kick of the game. It was West Bengal who dominated most of the match keeping Goan defense on their toes. Despite Bengal's dominance, the scoreline remained goalless after 90 minutes. Manvir Singh was the man who stunned the home crowd when his fine left footed effort in the 119th minute beating the Goan custodian.

Individual awards - 71st Santosh Trophy:

Best Goalkeeper: Bruno Colaco (Goa)
Best Defender: Provat Lakra (Bengal)
Best Midfielder: Cajetan Fernandes (Goa)
Best Striker: Basant Singh (West Bengal)
Share on Google Plus

About Debraj Banerjee

Hi, I am Debraj Banerjee from Adra, West Bengal. A keen follower of Indian football and always an optimist that the game will get the recognition it truely deserves. What we ask from you is your support and one day the dream might turn true. Fingers crossed for Indian football. Cheers!

Follow Me on Twitter Debraj Banerjee
    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment